My first 10km running event – 4 weeks to go!

IMG_1107

Hiya Everyone!

Welcome to my second post, something a bit different this time! Today marks 4 weeks until my first proper running event, so I thought I would give you the low down!

When I finished University in 2013 I moved back home to Devon, after the summer was over I decided enough is enough, and made it my business to shift the weight I’d gained throughout my studies (All that alcohol and lie ins didn’t do me any good!). I started Slimming World in Sept 2013 and slowly began to drop the lbs.

The following May I watched a close friend of mine run in our local 10km event – I was completely inspired by the sheer number of people doing the event, and also the age of some of the competitors! I mean if men in their 50s/60s can run that far, why can’t I right? This sparked off a bit of an obsession, and now here we are 11 months later and I am doing my final training for the Bideford 10km.

I am in no way shape or form a running expert, I started out using the ‘Couch to 5k’ podcast, and slowly but surely my km times have dropped and my runs have gradually got longer! I am now almost two and a half stone lighter and I am running quicker than I ever imagined!

Today Mark and I went for a 5 mile run on our local cycle trail which is called the Tarka trail. It was quite a mild day and luckily the weather held out for us, we didn’t get rained on! I also popped to my local Nike outlet store today and picked up an arm band for my phone to use for the 10km. I’ve attached a few photos so you can have a nosey!

I am aiming to run the 10km in about 65 minutes, and I am hoping to do another post with my results in 4 weeks time, so keep your eyes peeled!

Do you have any tips for me running my first 10km?

Hope you’ve enjoyed reading my second post.

Blog logo black

2 thoughts on “My first 10km running event – 4 weeks to go!

  1. Good luck for your first 10K, once you get the race bug you’ll be doing them all the time πŸ™‚

    Tips I’d say don’t go out too fast, even if everybody sprints off around you just stick to your plan and if you have enough in the tank speed up near the end. Also just enjoy it, don’t put too much pressure on yourself it’s supposed to be fun. You’ll do great πŸ™‚

    Lauren x

    Like

Leave a Reply

