My Search for the Perfect Base // Foundation Round up!

IMG_2138 Hi Everyone!

Hope you are all having a lovely weekend, I’m currently packing for a girlie weekend away in Bournemouth (this is a scheduled post!) and I  will probably be hungover and feeling very sorry for myself by the time you get to read this post! I decided to do something a bit different as I’ve fallen into the habit of doing lots of haul and review posts, and felt as though I need to switch things up a bit.

I think whilst growing up, as with many of you I’m sure – Foundation was one of those products that the younger me got oh so very wrong. I dread to think how bad my tide lines were, it took me a long time to really get the hang of colour matching. Although I am no make up expert I feel over the years I have finally got the knack, and I am much better at hunting down the right types of foundation for my skin – which FYI is on the pale side and also very dry! I thought I would do a round up of the foundations I have tried out this year, including my firm favourites along with those which haven’t been so great!

MAC Studio Fix Fluid in NC15 (RRP £21.50) – This was my first ever MAC foundation. NC15 is absolutely perfect for my skin tone and blends really well. Initially I found this foundation quite hard to work with as it was quite drying on my skin, but after applying it in different ways I’ve finally found a way that works for me to give a nice soft finish – without it sticking to my dry patches. I apply it in small amounts using a Real Techniques buffing brush. I also like to use the Studio Fix Power in NC15 to set the foundation, I apply this very liberally on my chin & jawline, as well as my forehead which can be a bit oily at times. I’m not normally a fan of matte foundations but Studio Fix just makes your skin look flawless and it is really long-lasting. 9/10

Rimmel Wake Me Up in 100 Ivory (RRP £8.99) – This is currently my favourite drugstore foundation. Back in the day I tried this foundation but found it to be quite cakey – I think this was purely because I was applying it too thickly, as I am now completely in love with it. It’s perfect for a very natural dewy finish, I like to apply the foundation with my fingers, then blend using my RT Buffing brush. For a drugstore foundation it is quite long-lasting, but I wouldn’t say it lasts as long as Studio Fix. 8/10

MAC Studio Sculpt in NW20 (RRP £25.00) – Although this foundation is more expensive than Studio Fix, it is better value for money as you are getting 10mls more of product. I was attracted to this product due to the gel formula, and I had heard that it was much more suited to those with drier skin. I had really high expectations for Studio Sculpt and I was honestly a bit disappointed to begin with. I expected it to be quite dewy, it does have a lot more moisture than Studio Fix but it just doesn’t sit on the skin as I expected. It takes a lot more work to blend this foundation in, in comparison with the previous two products. The last few weeks I have found myself leaning more towards this product as I can get away with using more layers as it’s not too drying so I can get a more high coverage finish. I have also been using it with MAC Strobe Cream underneath which gives a more glowy/dewy look and I do really love it. 8/10

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum in 51 Light Vanilla (RRP £10.99) – This foundation has been raved about by many big bloggers, including Zoella and Gabriella from Velvetghost. I really bought into the hype and was very excited to purchase this foundation. It is a light coverage foundation, which is said to give a semi-matte finish and last for up to 16 hours. To begin with my skin seemed to really like this foundation, I can get away with light coverage as I don’t really suffer with acne I just have a few red blotchy patches along the bottom of my cheeks which can be easily covered with concealer. But more recently, I have found that throughout the day this foundation almost flakes off – I’m not sure if it’s because the weather is getting warmer or due to air conditioning in the office that I work in. But it’s really changed my opinion of this foundation and I’ve barely been reaching for it at all. I am going to persevere with the Healthy Mix Serum, as I am keen to work out why it suddenly seems to be disagreeing with me. 6/10

So there you have it, that’s my foundation round up done! Let me know if you have tried any of these foundations and what your thoughts are? What is your go to foundation for summer? I would love to hear from you, so please feel free to leave a comment in the box below!

Twitter // Instagram // Bloglovin’

Blog logo black

12 thoughts on “My Search for the Perfect Base // Foundation Round up!

  1. Love reading these posts as I’m always on the look out for a great foundation! I’m a huge fan of MAC and just adore their products however I was so disappointed with the Studio Fix foundation as it made me break out 😦 Pity as the shade range is incredible. At the moment, I’m loving L’Oreal True Match and Maybelline’s Fit Me foundations.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think foundation is just part of your routine that is good to switch up & experiment with from time to time! Is the true match foundation dewy or matte? I’m looking to try another drugstore foundation 🙂 xo

      Like

  2. Great post. I am tempted to try a MAC foundation. I am one of the lovers of the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum – best foundation for me. Sad to hear you have fallen out of love with it, I have only been using it since the autumn so I may have different results in the warmer months! x

    Like

    1. It almost seems like I’ve got one from a bad batch or something, as to begin with it did apply really nice! I would definitely recommend trying a MAC foundation, they are a bit more pricey but they are worth it! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Studio Fix has been a love of mine for years and always will be. I always have a bottle of NW20 handy! I also absolutely LOVE the Make Up For Ever HD Foundation. Between those two, I think I’m set for life!

    Like

  4. I’ve actually been loving the L’Oreal Magic Nude! It’s light and the liquid-to-powder finish is so nice! I also just picked up the Infallible Pro-Matte foundation… I’m eager to try it out. I really want to love my MUFE HD foundation but I don’t just yet! I’m trying it out with different primers to see if I can get the best combo for my skin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

