My Weightloss Journey: An Update & Body Confidence Tips!

11709459_10207013050623657_2268791821906245831_n

Isn’t it crazy how much difference 2 years, and shedding 42 lbs can make? It’s been a while since I’ve done a proper lifestyle/health post and I’ve been feeling so uninspired this week, so I thought it was the perfect time to write this post.

Work has been super hectic the last 6 weeks and I feel like it’s really starting to take it’s toll on me. I’ve been feeling a bit run down & I’ve been beating myself up a bit when I’ve been skipping my runs. Earlier this week I went out for a meal with the work girls & I wore this lovely green dress I got from New Look a few years ago. It was the first time I’d worn this dress since I started loosing weight so I decided to make a progress photo to try & boost my confidence a bit.

You may have read my last weight loss post back in April (if not, click here to read more)- when I reach my slimming world target! I’m not sure if other people feel the same, but as I lost the weight over quite a long period of time I don’t think I actually see myself as being smaller, and still see the old version of me! I also think the fact I haven’t been running has really affected my mood/confidence as well as it’s amazing what difference exercise & getting your endorphins going can make.

I think it kind of dawned on me when I put these two photos together how much has changed, and I wanted to share this little light bulb moment with you all incase anyone else is feeling a bit fed up/lost their motivation for weightloss or exercise recently. I’ve put together a few tips for feeling more confident in your own skin – so I hope you find them helpful.

1) Remember, it’s okay to have a bad day! – Everyone has them sometimes and there is no need to beat yourself up about it. The more you give yourself a hard time, the deeper you’ll fall into the negative thoughts spiral. Don’t rush back into a full blown diet/ exercise routine.. its much better to ease yourself back in, and remember not to put too much pressure on yourself.

2) Try to think about the bigger picture – Look at how far you’ve come since the beginning of your journey, whether its your total weightloss so far, or how many minutes you’ve taken off your 5km running time. Also I’d like to point out, there is nothing wrong with posting a good ol’ progress photo! I absolutely love seeing peoples progress photos, and I love putting them together. It’s such a nice feeling being able to see the change from the beginning of your journey to now.

3) Take time to do the things you love, rather than forcing yourself to do things you don’t want to do – The more you force things, the worse you will feel. If you feel like you need a treat day, just go for it! You can’t completely deprive yourself forever. Treats are great but in moderation, it’s a really important lesson to teach yourself.

4) Share your thoughts/feelings – I know not everyone will agree with me, but I really believe that a problem shared is a problem halved. If you hide from your problems, and keep them hidden from others it will really take its toll on you. I even feel a bit better for writing this post!

5) Set aside some time to get some inspiration/motivation – whether thats looking through recipe books/ slimming world magazines (my favourite way to get my healthy eating motivation back!) or trawling through Pinterest/Tumblr for new exercise ideas.

6) Don’t compare yourself to others – this is probably the biggest life tip I could give anyone, and applies to so many different aspects of life. It’s important to understand that things won’t turn out for you the same way as other people – you are individual and are completely unique. You mould your own path, and comparing yourself to other people isn’t going to be beneficial.

I hope you have enjoyed this post & I really hoped it hasn’t sounded too preachy. I’ve decided I’m going to give myself a few weeks more to maintain my weight – then I am going to try & lose another 7 lb ready for my holiday in September.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below, I’d love to hear from you!

Twitter // Instagram // Bloglovin’ // YouTube

Blog logo black

16 thoughts on “My Weightloss Journey: An Update & Body Confidence Tips!

    1. It’s so strange to see how much I’ve changed 🙂 but I am super proud and I’d never go back now, I’m just way happier in myself and much more comfortable. Thanks so much lovely xxx

      Like

  1. I love seeing transformation pics, you didn’t look like you needed to lose 42lbs to me but you’ve done so well! I’m skipping the gym constantly at the minute so I love seeing posts like this to give me some motivation!

    Danielle’s Beauty Blog

    Like

  2. great job lovely! I’m one to think that being active is beneficial for the body and the mind as well!
    thank goodness I don’t have to lose weight as I’m a tiny person but default, but I workout almost everyday!
    it helps me with my mood, my tonus, my insomnia and I can see changes in how I feel as well if I stop being active as well!
    and of course, everyone has bad days, of course we all are different, but we all know what works best for us and how it works!
    so good luck and keep being active!
    have a great weekend! lots of xx, Annie | Annie’s Beauty

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment Annie 🙂 it’s amazing how beneficial exercise can be, I wish more people realised how good it is for improving your mood! There’s nothing better for me after a crap day at work than going for a long hard run to get my frustration out, and I always feel so much happier afterwards xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. you’re welcome lovely! that’s exactly what I think and feel as well! even if it’s recommended to exercise mainly in the mornings, nothing compares to a high intensity workout in the evenings to get a long day at the office off of your shoulders! 😉
        keep up the good work beautiful!
        lots of xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

