Barry M Matte Topcoat: An Honest Review.

IMG_6296

I thought it was about time I did another beauty review! For the next month or so I’ve decided that instead of getting my nails done at the salon, I’m going to stick to doing my own nails to try & save money.

I picked up the Barry M matte top coat a few weeks ago whilst browsing the aisles in Boots – they have a really great deal on at the moment where if you spend £6 on Barry M you get a free Barry M Gelly Hi Shine nail polish of your choice.

This product comes in at £2.99 for 10ml of product, which is quite reasonable as some top coats can be more on the pricey side. I was so excited to try it out as I am a big fan of matte nails, I’ve had it done at the salon before and it’s such a different finish to the standard glossy polish finish.

IMG_6312

The first time I used the matte top coat I was a bit sceptical – but I was thoroughly impressed with how quickly it turned my nails matte and also how quickly it dried. It worked really well with the Barry M Gelly Hi Shine in the shade green berry as shown in the photo above, and it has lasted really well. I’ve had this polish on my toes for around a week now and they are still looking pretty perfect and haven’t really chipped at all.

I found the top coat really easy to work with as it has quite a wide brush, so it’s really quick & easy to just sweep a nice thin layer over your nails. In my experience this product works best when you apply a thin even layer over the entire nail. I did also try the top coat out on my finger nails but sadly I was left feeling slightly disappointed.

IMG_6307

I found that the product didn’t stick around long on my nails before it started chipping. I think it only lasted about 4/5 days before the chips started appearing. I was quite disappointed as all the Barry M polishes I have used previously have lasted very well – so this was a bit of a let down for me. I do really love the matte effect you get from this product, but it’s just a shame that it’s not very long lasting.

I will definitely try experimenting a bit more with this product to see if I can make it last a bit longer on my finger nails! I think for £2.99 you can’t really go wrong. It’s a bit of a novelty at the moment and I’m sure all the other drugstore brands will catch on very quickly.

If you are into doing your own nails I would definitely recommend trying it, but just bare in mind it may not last as long as your normal nail polish. Let me know if you’ve tried this product? What are your favourite Barry M nail polishes?

I also posted a new YouTube video this week – all about some recent beauty bargains I’ve had, so if you haven’t already please check that out & subscribe to my YouTube channel. As I have previously mentioned I am having a weekend away in London this week. I will have some exciting videos in the pipeline from my trip – so definitely keep your eyes peeled!

If you would like to keep up to date with what I get up to on my travels go give me a follow on social media, I follow back!

Twitter // Instagram // Bloglovin’ // YouTube

Blog logo black

10 thoughts on “Barry M Matte Topcoat: An Honest Review.

Leave a Reply

