Strobing for Beginners!

IMG_7024

Strobing is another make up trend which has taken the beauty blogger community by storm! Before we begin I just want to point out that I am in no way shape or form I make up expert, I have just been doing a bit of research and thought there would be other bloggers like myself who would benefit from this post. I have always enjoyed creating more dewy glowing make up looks, so when I heard about strobing I knew I had to give it a go.

What actually is Strobing I hear you say? Well, in a nut shell strobing is pretty much the opposite of contouring – it’s all about highlight and creating a glowing complexion. Obviously highlighting is not something new, but strobing really takes this to the next level. Rather than being a natural soft highlight strobing is meant to be a more bold and dramatic look, but still keeping a very dewy and fresh finish to the skin.

IMG_7032

There are a lot of great highlighting products out there at the moment and I think it’s really important to choose wisely, using the best products for your skin tone. Options for those with paler skin tones like myself include: MAC Mineralise Skin finish in Soft & Gentle, NARS Copacabana, Benefit High Beam, Benefit Watt’s Up, The Balm Mary Lou Manizer & of course the much raved about Becca Champagne Pop.

IMG_7043

L – R: MAC Soft & Gentle, Benefit Watt’s Up & Benefit High Beam.

Another great product you can use for strobing is an illuminating/radiance boosting primer or cream. My weapon of choice is MAC’s aptly named Strobe Cream.

Now we’ve talked through the products required I thought I would give a quick step by step – I referred to Amelia Liana’s recent Strobing tutorial to give me a bit of inspiration.

IMG_7021

To start off you need to apply your illuminating primer or cream. Following this it’s time to work on your base – it’s best to use something which isn’t too high coverage that will allow the radiance you’ve created to shine through. I would use the bareMinerals complexion rescue as it very light and dewy on the skin, or my drugstore pick would be the Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation as it is great for creating a radiant glow. It is really important to keep your base very light, a stippling brush would work really well to work the product into the skin whilst keeping it quite sheer, avoiding adding too much product to the areas you would naturally highlight more e.g. tops of cheek bones.

Conceal any blemishes you may have, and conceal your under eye area – I would use my Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer as again this is great for adding more radiance and isn’t too high coverage. I find using a sponge to blend concealer works well as it stops the concealer from looking too cakey. It is important not to go too wild with powder as the aim of the game is to retain the dewy fresh look.

IMG_7026

Now for the main event, bring in the highlighters! When trying this out for myself, I used a combination of two products. I first applied Benefit’s Watts up to the tops of my cheek bones very lightly, and blending this with my fingers. To then add even more of a glow I used my MAC Soft & Gentle, which is my all time favourite highlight. I applied this with a Real Techniques Contouring Brush. It gives a gorgeous champagne glow. A good drugstore alternative would be the Make Up Revolution Golden Sugar palette which contains some stunning highlight shades. As always, to add even more of a glow add some highlight to the bridge of your nose, your brow bone and cupids bow.

To finish the look I added some bronzer just below my cheek bones, Solar Powder from Soap and Glory worked really well as it has plenty of shimmer. I’ve included a photo below so you can see my finished look. I didn’t want to go too OTT with the highlight as this was the first time I had tried Strobing but I think you can see how much difference it makes not contouring out the cheek bones and adding more glow to the face.


What are your thoughts on Strobing? I’d love to hear what highlighting products you enjoy using?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

Blog logo black

25 thoughts on “Strobing for Beginners!

    1. Thanks Karen. I was a bit nervous about posting this as I’m such a make up novice! But I wanted people to know that if someone like me can give it a go, then you all should. I’d love to see a photo if you do decide to give it a go πŸ™‚ xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awwh Lucie you done so well, that’s such a positive out look πŸ™‚ We’re on all a learning curve with this stuff & there’s always something new to try so you’re not alone – tis always a tad nerve wrecking but good to overcome the nerves… it’s the only way we learn right?! πŸ™‚ Will surely give it a go and show you a pic – you think you’re a novice, you haven’t seen me yet huni lol lol XXX

        Like

  1. You look gorgeous!!! I Mac Soft and Gentle is my very favorite and also I use an eyeshadow form Mac which is All that Glitters! It works really good for highlighting!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

