My Summer Running Playlist

My summer playlist

A few weeks ago when I posted about getting back my motivation for running (read full post here) I asked if any of you would be interested in seeing my summer running playlist and some of you were interested so that’s what today’s post is all about.

I find it’s really important to choose songs I know and love, but they also need to be very up beat and motivating. I find songs with motivating lyrics very helpful as they can give me a bit of a boost when I’m struggling. I think the music you listen to when running is really important as it can really help the pace of your run and for me personally I find music a good distraction, enabling me to run further and faster.

Years & Years – Take Shelter: The perfect song to start the run as it’s not too intense but it really gets me going.

Disclosure – Voices: More upbeat and with a slightly faster pace. I could fill my entire summer running playlist with Disclosure songs as they are one of my favourite artists!

Fall Out Boy – Uma Thurman: I am still totally obsessed with this song. The riff provides a really good beat to run along to.

Tensnake – Coma Cat: A bit of an oldie but this song almost always features in my running playlist as I just find the beat so motivating.

Avicii – Waiting For Love: I don’t think any explantation is needed for this one really, I must admit I do try to sing along whilst running – which probably tires me out even more!

Rudimental – Not Giving In: This is where the motivational lyrics come into play, you have no idea how much it helps when you are running up a steep hill but you can hear John Newman singing ‘This time we’re gonna be stronger, I’m not giving in!’c

The Weeknd – Can’t Feel My Face: This is my absolute favourite song at the moment but a country mile! It’s also the perfect kind of song for running as very funky, I love the base guitar on the chorus.

Diclosure – Omen (Ft Sam Smith): As I’ve already said, I can’t get enough of Disclosure, and Sam Smith is just a god!

Pendulum – Tarantula: An oldie but a blummin’ goldie! This song gives me a good kick up the butt when I’m getting towards the end of my run and I’m running out of steam.

Sigma – Nobody To Love: This song always reminds me of when I started running last year and I always include it in my running playlist.

Arianna Grande – Problem: This song was my ‘power song’ for the 10km race I did in May, it came on for the last stretch and I’m not sure what it is about this song but it always eggs me on! I love it.

Clean Bandit – Stronger: Finishing up with another song which has great motivational lyrics! It honestly makes all the difference, I also like to try put my foot down for the last km so this song is perfect for getting me moving a bit quicker.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post. At the moment I’m experimenting a bit with the timing / days I’m posting. When I lay down my proper post schedule I’m thinking of making one particular day a week ‘Lifestyle Day’ – is that something you would be interested in? Let me know your thoughts below!

What songs get you feeling motivated for working out?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

Blog logo black

8 thoughts on “My Summer Running Playlist

Leave a Reply

