Eating Out: Wahaca | Restaurant Review

wahaca

I’m trying something a bit different today – it’s my first ever food post! A few weeks ago I was lucky enough to visit the new Wahaca restaurant in Bristol. My boyfriend has been doing some film work for Wahaca recently due to them opening the new restaurant in Bristol, so we decided to pop by & give it a try.

For those of you who may not have heard of this chain before, Wahaca is a Mexican street food restaurant. Wahaca is inspired by Mexican market food and that really comes through in not only their food but their decor & atmosphere. Each of the Wahaca restaurants are decorated very bright and vibrantly to reflect the buzzing atmosphere and bold Mexican flavours. We have visited their restaurant in Covent garden many times and it is one of our favourite places to go in London. Their menu offers what I can only describe as the Mexican version of tapas – they have created miniature versions of great Mexican dishes so you can enjoy a variety of Mexican delights.

IMG_2375

Wahaca do have some larger dishes on their menu but we have always really enjoyed the street food menu. We normally have two dishes each and a side, which is plenty to fill our hungry bellies! On this occasion I decided to go for the Chicken Taquitos (which are miniature deep fried wraps filled with succulent and well spiced chicken, topped with salad, salsa & sour cream), Crab & Avocado Tostadas (flat layed wraps topped with British crab, chipotle mayo & avocado) along with some sweet potato chunks which are my absolute favourite! My boyfriend stuck with his usual British steak tacos with cheese (pictured above) and Chorizo Quesadillas.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

As always with Wahaca, the service was very quick! With the street food dishes, they do arrive at the table at different times. But I don’t mind this as it means you can eat your food gradually, and you aren’t too overwhelmed having so many plates on the table at once. All of the food we had this time was very delicious. As I’ve already said the sweet potato is always a big hit with me but I particularly enjoyed the crab & avocado tostadas. They were really fresh and the crab was so tasty.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

We don’t normally have room for dessert, but as we had travelled up from Devon especially we decided to treat ourselves. I had a latte and passionfruit sorbet, while my boyfriend had his all time favourite – Churros with chocolate sauce. This is the first time I’d tried any of their cold desserts and I was very impressed. I am a big fan of sorbet as I like having some light to finish off my meal and this really hit the spot.

I would highly recommend visiting Wahaca if you are in a city which has one, they have recently opened a restaurant in Manchester and you can also find them in London, Cardiff & Bristol! The food is very unique compared to other Mexican restaurants in the UK, the service is always fantastic and they also have a great range of cocktails (my favourite being the passionfruit Margarita).

Do you enjoy reading these kinds of posts? Have you ever been to Wahaca?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Blog logo black

7 thoughts on “Eating Out: Wahaca | Restaurant Review

      1. Oh absolutely, the food is great and I love the atmosphere of the restaurants as well ๐Ÿ™‚ Wish we had them here, but I will just have to wait for my next trip t the UK. xxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

