Vampy MOTD

IMG_4430

A girls night out is always the perfect excuse for a MOTD post. For nights out I always like to go bold with my lipstick, and over the past few months I’ve been gradually trying to improve my eye shadow blending skills as I’m sure a novice so that was the aim of the game with this look.

For my base I used MAC Studio Fix fluid, I can always rely on this to last the whole night and provide me with great coverage. For those areas that needed a bit of extra coverage I used my Urban Decay NAKED Skin concealer, I reviewed this product last week so I won’t go into too much detail (click here to read my full review). I set my base using my Bourjois Healthy Balance Powder. As always I contoured with MAC Harmony blush. I avoided blush as my cheeks always get pretty rosy in the colder months. For evening make up I always love to have some highlight – MAC’s Soft & Gentle Mineralize Skin-finish adds a gorgeous champagne sheen.

I’m lucky to have a solid brow duo which I use day in and day out (so this record is probably getting a bit old now..) I like to use Soap & Glory’s Brow Archery pencil to add definition and Benefit’s Gimme Brow to set my brows. Maybelline’s Color Tattoo in Permanent taupe worked as a staple base for this look, it’s a great product which stops my powder shadows from creasing. I packed L’Oreal’s Color Riche shadow in 201 Cafe Saint Germaine over the entire lid, it’s a lovely finely milled shimmer shad. I would say it’s a cross between a rose gold and taupe. To add some definition I blended the shade Primal from the UD NAKED Basics 2 palette through the crease. To finish the eyes I used two coats of the Max Factor False Lash Effect mascara.

I wanted to pair this subtle taupe eye with a bold vampy lip. I first lined my lips using the Rimmel Exaggerate Lip Liner in 064 Obsessed which is a dark red. I then applied my lipstick of choice, MAC Media. This is a very intense shade which I don’t get to wear very often so this night out was the perfect excuse. The only issue with this lipstick is, with it being so dark it does take a lot of maintenance/reapplication. I was really happy with the overall look, especially the eye shadow as this was the first time I used the L’Oreal shadow and I was very impressed.

What is your favourite vampy lipstick for nights out?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

16 thoughts on “Vampy MOTD

  1. Hmm… I hope you don’t find this offensive, but you look like THE beautiful, sweet English girl! What a gorgeous look, your complexion looks perfect. I like how in depth you were with how you got the look, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

