Shopping My Stash | Red Lipsticks!

IMG_0237

Whilst on my spending ban I’ve been searching through my make-up stash to try and discover some hidden gems I’ve forgotten about. I’ve managed to dig out quite a large number of lipsticks, there is a nice mixture of high end and drugstore lipsticks, and although I don’t wear a red lip as often as I should I think I’ve got some lovely shades here. I’m going to run through the shades clockwise starting from the top.

Maybelline Color Drama in Fab Orange – Although it’s named Fab Orange this shade leans much more red. Costing less than £5.00 this is one of my favourite lip products from the drugstore. The Color Drama pencils are really easy to use and have a matte finish, they are said to be a great dupe for the NARS lip pencils.

Clinique Lip Pop in Cherry Pop – A recent addition to my collection (a lovely magazine freebie!), Cherry Pop is a traditional red with a hint of berry undertones. It is quite a creamy formula which is very gentle on the lips, although I have to admit it’s not the most long-lasting lipstick.

MAC Viva Glam I – An iconic MAC matte lipstick. The original Viva Glam is a gorgeous deep vampy red with an almost brown undertone which is really unique, I haven’t found any other shade which compares. This lipstick is very long-lasting and although it’s a matte finish it is quite comfortable to wear.

Rimmel Kate Moss 107 – Quite possibly the most raved about drugstore lipstick in the beauty blogging community. 107 is a red wine shade with a creamy finish. I’ve not actually got much wear out of this lipstick yet but I’m sure I will as the festive season approaches!

IMG_0243

L – R : Rimmel 107, MAC Viva Glam, Clinique Cherry Pop, Bourjois Rouge Edition 10, Rimmel 110, Maybelline Fab Orange, MAC Lady Danger, Limecrime SuedeBerry.

Bourjois Rouge Edition in shade 10 – This was one of the lipsticks I kinda forgot I had! A few years ago this was pretty much the only red lipstick I would wear. It has quite a coral/orange undertone which I really like and the finish of this lipstick is soft and creamy.

Rimmel Kate Moss 110 – Another more coral toned red, this Rimmel lipstick is an easy to wear red. It’s another shade which tends to slip to the bottom of my make-up bag purely because I am little MAC obsessed at the moment. I definitely need to wear this lipstick more often.

MAC Lady Danger – You may see a slight pattern developing here, I think I have a slight obsession with warm toned reds! Lady Danger is a very matte lipstick, so I tend to only wear this for nights out. It is much more long-lasting than drugstore lipsticks I own which are similar in colour to this.

Limecrime Velvetine in Suedeberry – My only red liquid lipstick, Suedeberry is again a very warm toned red. The best thing about this lipstick is the lasting power, once applied I don’t have to worry about it for the rest of the night. But I have to say since all the trouble this year with Limecrime I have been put off purchasing any more from them.

Putting this post together has made me realise I am really lacking a blue-toned red lipstick in my collection, I think I have always been a bit scared to wear them due to them being so bold. But if you have any suggestions/recommendations please let me know?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

5 thoughts on “Shopping My Stash | Red Lipsticks!

  1. I love love love the Rimmel Kate Moss lippies, I have a full stash of them at home, and they are so fantastic. I like the look of the Clinique lipstick here, and want to try out their range of shades. Great post xox

    Like

Leave a Reply

