The Blogger Made Me Buy It! | The Mary-Lou Manizer

IMG_0905

Before starting my blog earlier this year, I had never actually heard of the brand The Balm. I’m not sure why they hadn’t cropped up on my radar, but I’m so glad I’ve finally discovered them. With their quirky packaging and great formulations, many of their products have quickly become blogger favourites.

With the rise in popularity of highlighting products this year, Mary-Lou has become the star of the show. Quite honestly I don’t think I’ve read a bad review of this product so I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to get my hands on it!

IMG_0907

The Mary-Lou Manizer definitely surpassed my expectations and I’m glad I finally gave into the hype. It’s a champagne toned highlight which is super finely milled. It has a lovely fine shimmer to it which isn’t too overpowering. I’m not normally a huge fan of really shimmery highlights but as this is so finely milled it looks very natural on the skin.

IMG_0908

The formula of this product is very impressive. The texture is almost buttery, and it blends effortlessly into the skin. I often find with powder products that they don’t always sit well on my skin and I get that ‘powdery’ look but this isn’t the case at all with Mary-Lou.

IMG_0913

Everyone blogger around has raved about the pigmentation of this product – it definitely does not disappoint. I found this to be even more pigmented that my MAC Mineralize Skin finish in Soft & Gentle.

IMG_0934

The formula and pigmentation of this product means it is easy to apply gradually building up the shimmer. I didn’t expect to love this product as much as I do. It’s by the far the nicest highlight I’ve tried and it’s definitely worth the hype it’s received within the blogging community. I really want to try the Betty-Lou Manizer now too.

Have you tried any products from The Balm? What is your favourite highlight?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

38 thoughts on “The Blogger Made Me Buy It! | The Mary-Lou Manizer

  1. That’s fantastic! I’ve gotten a couple of things from theBalm in my Ipsy bags and I have absolutely loved the funky packaging. I’m really in to packaging and creativity and they certainly win with this! Mostly I’ve gotten fairly neutral/nude eye shadows so I haven’t been exceptionally thrilled with that since Ipsy has sent me a ton of neutral/nude shade eye shadows, but the product wears so nicely and the packaging rocks… but I’d wondered about trying other stuff out. I’m definitely keeping this on my radar!

    Like

      1. It makes me think of the packaging of Too Faced. I love their things as well. Of course, I just received a box from Sugar Pill and the packaging of the shipping box alone was awesome… I’m really in to that.

        Like

  2. YouTube totally made me buy this! It’s very nice but slightly TOO much highlight for my taste. I like the Shiseido one which is more subtle. From theBalm, I really love their InStain blushes – very intense and lasts a long time on the cheeks. πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. To be honest I think I forget about it more often than anything! Pinky highlights probably aren’t my favourite kind, so I think that’s why I go for Mary Lou or soft & gently by Mac more!x

        Like

Leave a Reply

