A Healthy Start to 2016

healthy start copy

January is of course that time of year, with new years resolutions fresh in our minds that health and fitness becomes a priority again. I myself am not massively into resolutions, but after slacking over Christmas I feel it’s time I got back on my healthy eating game & start exercising.Β Some of you may know, this year I hit my Slimming World target after losing 3 stone over a 2 year period. I hit my target back in April and since then I have kind of floated around the same weight, I stopped running and still managed to maintain my weight.

But recently I’ve started to feel quite stressed again, and not very comfortable in my own skin. I had already decided I wanted to try and be more healthy in the new year. After taking part in a new Twitter chat #FitBunniesChat last Sunday my motivation has been through the roof so I thought I would share my plans and ideas with you.

With my weight loss running had a huge part to play. Although I did take Slimming World very seriously, and I didn’t like to deprive myself too much of the occasional treat. The way I got around that was with running. I also found that running really helped me with clearing my mind and de-stressing, I could set out on my run in a terrible mood/feeling very negative. Then after finishing my run I would feel very accomplished and on a totally different planet. So I’ve decided I’m going to make sure I make a big effort to get back into running. It’s quite hard going after having not ran for around 3-4 months, but I’ve just made a promise to myself that I will go at least twice a week.

IMG_1203.JPG

With regards to my diet, my main goals are to cut back on bread and sweet treats, drink more water and increase my veg intake. After going to Slimming World for 2 years I feel like I do have quite good dietary habits, but I needed a bit of a change to make things more exciting again. I decided to treat myself to the Deliciously Ella book, thanks to recommendations from the #FitBunniesChat.

The book focuses on awesome ingredients and incredible food that you & your body will love. The recipes are vegan, natural and don’t contain sugar or processed ingredients. I myself am not a Vegan but I’ve found reading this book really helpful and I can’t wait to try out more of the recipes. Last week I made the delicious sweet potato wedges shown above and I even treated myself to a Spiralizer so I can start making courgette noodles which I am extremely excited about. I was so pleased to discover this book as not only does it contain wonderful recipes but Ella’s story is so inspiring. It’s nice to have some fresh ideas and I look forward to sharing them with you in future posts.

I’ve decided I’m not going to go back to Slimming World as I don’t want to focus on the scales too much, but I’m going to weigh myself at home and keep tabs on my progress that way. I’m not trying to do anything too drastic as I just want to feel a little better in myself, and feel more healthy. I think I would feel much more comfortable by losing 7-10lbs, and maintaining exercising 2-3 times a week just to manage my stress and get the endorphins going.

Let me know if you have any tips or recipes you think I may like, I’d love to know if you enjoy reading these kind of posts as it’s a little different to my usual style.

Be sure to check out the Fitness Bunnies twitter page for lots of helpful fitness and health related tips. The #FitBunniesChat is at 6.00pm every Sunday, so maybe I’ll see you there?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

11 thoughts on “A Healthy Start to 2016

  1. When I read this post it was like I was reading something I would have wrote myself a few years ago. I completely understand where you are coming from.
    I started running when I started college, at the time I was depressed and didn’t realise it until I started to run, it really does clear your head. When I moved to London I found it hard to keep up with running and stopped altogether. If you’re finding it difficult to fit into your routine, you should try some yoga home practice, Yoga With Adrienne on YouTube is my favourite.
    As for diet, I think you’re making the right decision to step away from Slimming World and move to being more aware of food, rather a number on the scales. Ella Woodward is amazing, and just let you know if you visit her website she has all her new book tour events listed; they’re really good price for tickets and she will be doing talkas at the events.
    I hope you continue your journey towards healthy, fitness and happiness.

    Like

  2. You should totally check out lizzieloveshealthy.com and Madeleine Shaw for recipe ideas lovely πŸ™‚ both have been fantastic finds, no refined sugar, no wheat and all good dairy. Both have neat ideas and healthy treats also xxx

    Like

  3. I joined the food tracking challenges at My Fitness Pal and have managed to track most of my food this month! I also joined a fitness challenge on Fit Star to do 20 of their workouts. Combined with my new Apple Watch bugging me to keep meeting my goals, I’ve found that I’m much more active so far and I’m liking it! Hopefully I will slim down a little, too. I’ve gained back some of the weight I lost, and I would like to lose it again…only healthy loss this time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

