The Social Media Debate

  
There is a lot of chatter at the moment around how bloggers use their social media and self promotion in general. I think even outside the blogging community Social Media has a lot of controversy surrounding it, due to the kind of content people share and the amount of time people spend on these sites. We are the Social Media generation and I think it’s a really important element of blogging so I thought I would discuss my thoughts with you.

The big wide world of Social Media is great for getting your blog out there. There are many platforms and various ways of using them to attract attention and traffic to your blog. The impression I get is that opinions are totally split down the middle, especially when it comes to the topics of scheduling tweets/posts and also Instagram ‘themes’.

In my opinion there is nothing wrong with scheduling. I regularly schedule blog posts, but I don’t tend to schedule anything that I post on my social media unless I know I’m not going to have the chance to post it at that time e.g. if I’m on holiday. So I can understand why people would like the idea of scheduling tweets etc. But what I don’t like is people who schedule a shed load (e.g. 10+ tweets) per day, all promoting the same post, and in between these tweets there is nothing to break it up or no interaction with others. Of course this is just my opinion, but I do believe that self promotion is something that should be done in moderation.

Something else which has been bothering me a little is the debate surrounding Instagram, and ‘themed’ accounts. I am a huge fan of Instagram, I have been using it for around 4 years now before I even had an inkling about setting up a blog. I love using it to share my photos, but I also enjoy using Instagram as a platform for finding inspiration. I must admit aesthetically I do enjoy themed accounts, but when it comes to my own account I’ve really struggled with this. I think it is good to have a loose theme for your account, but it’s important to remember life doesn’t always fit into that theme.

I’ve always found that Instagram has been the hardest social media platform to increase my following on, which can be a little frustrating at times. For me, my Instagram isn’t just for my blog but it’s almost like a photo diary of my life. I will continue to post my everyday life, my travels and blogging content without feeling the pressure to conform. I’ve also found recently the less I worry and think about it too much, the better my account becomes.

I know this is a very different post for me but it’s something I’ve been wanting to talk about for a while now. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this topic – What forms of social media do you use? What are your thoughts on themed Instagram accounts?

A cheeky little plug.. But don’t forget to follow me on Social Media to keep up to date with all of my beauty/lifestyle ramblings:

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

31 thoughts on “The Social Media Debate

  1. I totally agree with you about Instagram – I love it and it’s the one I use the most but it’s the account I have the least followers on! I don’t understand the theme thing either – I post what photos I like without worrying if it matches up with the rest of them! It takes the fun out of it I think! Fab post it’s as if you took the words right out of my mouth! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally agree with you about the scheduled tweets, fair enough a few when it gets posted from wordpress / bloglovin, but sometimes it can seem pushing for ‘clicks’. Like you I am a lover of Instagram and using it to post about posts! Great post as always lovely! X

    Like

  3. Great post. I totally agree with you about Instagram themes – I don’t have a theme and Instagram has my lowest number of followers. I have been using it for years and I love sharing random photos of my day so I’m fine with that. I don’t schedule tweets either but I can see how it would help with traffic – how with Twitter changing its news feed tweeting numerous promotion links might become redundant… Maybe… Xxx

    Like

    1. Yeah my Instagram is the same! But at the end of the day I use it more as a personal place for photos I like πŸ™‚ yeah I agree about Twitter too, I think it’s just a shame when people only use Twitter to promote themselves. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with all your Instagram points. Theme accounts are pretty and if you have a business or something like that, I totally understand the purpose of them. Instagram is also my least popular haha yet it some ways it’s the realest, you get snapshots into someone’s life at a particular moment in time. Followed you on Instagram and Twitter πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’ve summed it up perfectly really, it’s basically like a photo journal of your life isn’t it πŸ™‚ I love Instagram I almost just wish there wasn’t such pressure surrounding it. Thank you so much lovely πŸ™‚ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. So true! I see some of my friends go from a few thousand followers to twenty thousand and I’m in awe. How do they do it? Well, after my seething jealous passed I sort of came to the conclusion that it’s just social media. It’s hard to keep things in perspective and sometimes I find myself getting down on my account as if it is boring! Then I center myself and remember what I’m here for. Love the friends on have on insta (you being one :)) and thankful for all of them.

    Oh, and I think themed accounts are too difficult! I have too many interests and moods! Shouldn’t your account reflect your feelings at the time? I definitely go with my own flow lol πŸ™‚

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree with you 100%. Once I stopped stressing and trying so hard everything started working itself out. It’s hard to keep up with so many platforms so I tend to put all my focus on Instagram and Twitter. I have all the other platforms but I just seem to do better on those. Thanks for a change of pace and your interesting thoughts on social media!!

    Like

  7. I totally agree with you! Especially on the Instagram theme, I love seeing them but I just think they look so high maintenance to keep and make sure each photo has same edit ect. I share too much of my life on Instagram to make a theme and its so hard to get the follows up xx

    Like

    1. Exactly! I think the people that manage to maintain it are amazing though and I really admire their photos. I do prefer accounts that are more realistic though and show every day life πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

  8. Totally agree I don’t want to look at instagram accounts that look like glossy mags, I want to see people’s real life pictures not the take 100 pictures to find the perfect one then edit the life out it ❀

    Like

  9. I use IG as a kind of photo diary too. I’ve been trying to incorporate blog stuff on there lately but it doesn’t feel natural to me. For me, the real strength of IG is that I can capture images with my mobile phone as I go about my day. I’m less apt to whip out my actual camera which is what I use to take blog photos. I don’t know. I don’t think anyone can dictate how you use your social media, it’s whatever feels natural to you. I enjoy having the variety of the different platforms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

