The Perfect Contour Palette for Pale Skin | Kat Von D Shade & Light

IMG_2474

I’ve started this post with a very bold claim, but I truly stand by it. For such a long time I’ve been searching for a face palette with fair enough shades that don’t like muddy or too warm toned on my pale skin. I’ve found a few contour products along the way that have been good, but they don’t come close to this one. So I wanted to write a post to share with you my appreciation for theΒ Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Palette.

This palette isn’t the easiest to get hold of here in the UK, I think you can order it through Amazon but it’s pretty pricey. Luckily for me, my parents went to America last month and I asked them to bring this back for me. Basically the day Sephora comes to the UK all my dreams will come true! The palette contains six powders, three contour shades and three lighter powders which can be used to highlight and to set the face.

IMG_2472

Top row L-R: Lucid, Lyric, Levitation. Bottom row L-R: Sombre, Shadowplay, Subconscious.

First things first, the packaging and overall aesthetic of this palette is really unique and sleek. The black matte with the dramatic font really translates Kat Von D’s style and it’s different to any other brand I’ve tried. It has a large mirror inside the palette which is really handy.

Onto the nitty gritty; the powders within this palette are very impressive. The reason why I love this palette so much is because although the contour shades are very pigmented, they are shades which work with pale skin without looking too orange or muddy. I particularly like using the shade Sombre, although it looks very cool toned it actually blends out to be a very natural contour. I like to use Shadowplay to darken up my contour slightly. Currently Subconscious is a little dark for me, but I’m sure I will get some use from this during the summer.

IMG_2469

L – R: Sombre, Shadowplay, Subconscious.

All six of the powders in this palette have a fantastic formula, they are very finely milled which means they blend seamlessly into the skin without looking heavy or cakey. The contour shades are very pigmented so you only need a small amount to get good amount of pigment. I am no makeup expert, and contouring can be difficult at the best of times. But this palette has made things much easier, as the powders are easy to blend out.

I have always struggled with setting powders, especially on my T-zone as it often leaves my makeup looking cakey but the light powders in this palette have really changed things for me. I like to use the shade Lucid to set areas where I have applied concealer, then I go in with the shade Lyric which is a yellow toned powder to set my T-zone. It holds my makeup in place whilst still looking very natural.

IMG_2466

My two favourite shades – Lucid & Sombre

Although this is a very pricey product, I would highly recommend it especially to others who have pale/fair skin like mine. I did contemplate trying the Anastacia Beverley Hills Contour palette, but the powders are much more warm toned. This is the most neutral/cool toned contour palette I have found and really works for fair skin. I’m also a huge fan of the highlight shades in this palette, and it’s quickly become an essential in my everyday makeup.

What products do you like to use for contouring?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

22 thoughts on “The Perfect Contour Palette for Pale Skin | Kat Von D Shade & Light

Leave a Reply

