A little catch up | Blogging break & going back to Uni

  
Hello Everyone,

I hope you are all well? You may have noticed I have been slightly absent for the last ten days so I thought I would give you a bit of an update, and write more a chatty post. You may already know on 11/03/16 it was my Birthday and I went away with my boyfriend & family for a bit of a break. After we returned I just felt like I needed a week to myself, without having to worry about scheduling posts and replying to comments.

At times I feel the blogging community and being involved in it can be quite intense. I’m sure many of you have witnessed the many Twitter dramas that have occurred recently. It has just started to feel like this community is very competitive, but in a negative way. So this is partly why I gave myself a break. I think it’s healthy to have a break sometimes and I definitely feel much better for it.

In the past month I’ve also had some very exciting news so I wanted to take this opportunity to share that with you. Since October I have been working at my local hospital as a support worker in the Theatre department, for obvious reasons I don’t discuss my job at all really on my blog. I have got to the stage in my life where I really want to get into a great career so I can start to think about building my future with Mark. I decided to apply to go to University to study to be an Operating Department Practitioner, and I recently found out that I have got a place on the course which starts in September.

My course is run by Oxford Brookes University, and I will be based at their healthcare campus which is in Swindon. Despite this I am still going to be living at home in Devon, as the majority of my course will be spent training and gaining experience at my local hospital, just having to travel to Swindon for my lectures. This is a big step in the right direction for me, but I’m very apprehensive and nervous about it. I’ve already been to University once, so I know I can cope with the work etc I think it’s more the fact I won’t have a regular income anymore. I thought it was important to write about this on my blog, as although it’s very personal I want you all to understand just incase I do have to reduce my blog schedule when I start my studies.

Despite my nerves and worries, I’m very excited about starting the course. I’m determined to continue writing my blog as it’s been such a lovely creative place for me. I just think the direction of my blog may change slightly, as I won’t be buying products all the time. I’m contemplating writing about my studies, and also more lifestyle related content so please let me know if this is something you’d like to read.

I would also like to say a quick thank you as this month I finally hit 1000 followers on my Instagram account, and 1250 followers here on WordPress. In around 3 weeks my blog will be turning 1, and I am blown away by the support and response I’ve had in that time, so thank you to all of you for your support and love.

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

28 thoughts on “A little catch up | Blogging break & going back to Uni

  1. Congratulations that’s amazing news! Whatever content you decide to post whilst you begin studying will be good I’m sure! Defo with you on the break thing good for you hope you had a only time away from it all! πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  2. Don’t be nervous or worried to start your course! I moved 250 miles away to university, after years of telling myself I’d never do it – but if it’s something that you truly love and are really passionate about you’ll have the best time ever! Definitely keep up with the blogging – it’s hard to make time for everything, especially if you get busy with coursework or revision, but it’s a nice little escape from all the degree stuff when you make time to carry on with it.

    Congratulations!! x

    Like

    1. Thank you Emily! I think it’s partly because I’ve already been to Uni once before & I never expected I’d end up going again haha. But I’m starting to feel very excited about it too πŸ™‚ I definitely want to continue blogging as its my little escape – I just think my direction might have to change a little! Xx

      Like

      1. I’m study Law and Arts, a double degree- majoring in criminology and international relations! Blogging is a great side escape, exactly! You’ll do great πŸ™‚ xx

        Like

      1. That would be lovely! And if you need to know anything about the town, feel free to ask and I’ll do my best! Awesome, we’ll have to arrange something a bit closer to the time!

        Like

  3. Congratulations on your uni course! I completely understand on having to take a break from blogging. I have done that recently and not posting as much as even though I love it, having a full time job, trying to have a social life and blog at the same time can get full on so I have now just decided to blog as and when I feel like it which I am loving. Blogging is just a hobby for me and I don’t ever want it to feel like a chore. Good luck with your course and I look forward to seeing more lifestyle posts too πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

    1. It’s very similar to Nursing, but purely in the Theatre environment. So they are either based in Anaesthetics – assisting the anaesthetist putting the patients under, or in Surgery they are scrubbed up handing out instruments & assisting the surgeons. They also work in Recovery taking care of the patients post op πŸ™‚ so it’s really varied!
      Lots of arguments about silly things, bloggers giving other bloggers stick for having an opinion basically! But it’s been drawn out for weeks which was really silly.
      Thank you lovely πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

  4. COngrats Lucianne!! And I completely understand. I also have been MIA and it has been a rough 3 weeks. The important thing is to get back in the game a celebrate all those amazing new opportunities! ❀

    Like

  5. Just catching up on your blog Lucie and some how I missed this post! Congratulations and how exciting for you. It is scary leaving a full time job to study. I did it too as I left uni, worked for several years in care work and then decided to take the plunge to train to be a social worker by taking the 2 year MA degree. Luckily the tuition fees were funded but everything else I had to pay for. Some how I managed to juggle studying, long placements and working shifts (mostly evenings and weekends) as a support worker. It is worth it in the end. I’m actually considering taking another break from paid employment and study for a Ph.D… Congratulations again Lucie and yes I would love to read more lifestyle posts. Sounds great xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Em, it’s nice to hear that you managed to cope with it all. I’m actually really looking forward to it, just trying not to worry about the money side of things for now as I know I’ll be better off in the long run πŸ™‚ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s only 2 years, and I only have two 6 week stints of lectures each year in Swindon, so the rest of the time I’ll be living at home as I’ll be on placement in my local hospital. I’m thinking about possibly doing weekly vlogs during my uni time πŸ™‚ xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

