Drugstore Additions + First Impressions

IMG_8186

In the last week I have done a bit of drugstore shopping as there has been some great new releases that I was very excited to get my ands on. On top of this I had a lovely late Birthday present from one of my friends & blogger package from SEVENTEEN. So I thought I would lump everything together in one post and talk you through the products.

My mum has started to really get into makeup recently, in particular foundation and tools to apply it with. I had told her about the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge, and because they were on offer she picked one up for me too (cute right?!). I have owned one of these previously and for the price it does a fantastic job, so I’m pleased to have a fresh and shiny new one.

IMG_8209

Soap & Glory are definitely one of my favourite drugstore brands, as they are constantly launching new and exciting products. One of their new releases is a range of colour correcting concealers. As I often suffer with redness I had to try the Kick Ass All is Calm Concealer. This is the first stick concealer I have tried, so the application isn’t the easiest. But the colour does really help when covering patches of redness.

IMG_8197

Another new release from Soap & Glory which I was keen to try is their Glow All Out Cheek Stick in Ice Shimmer. This is a chunky stick highlight which compares to highend highlights such as Benefit’s Watts Up & the NARS Copacabana. A good cream highlight is something I’m lacking in my collection, so I’m hoping this will fill that slot. It’s a gorgeous champagne/pearlescent colour which I think will look amazing on pale/medium skin.

IMG_8203

The next product is something I am ridiculously excited about. I am a huge fan of the brand Colour Pop but as I’m sure you will all know they are difficult to get hold of here in the UK. My lovely friend Callie actually bought me this for my birthday – it’s the Colour Pop Super Shock Eyeshadow in the shade Kathleen Lights isn’t it dreamy? I’m honestly not sure if I can bring myself to even swatch it, as it’s too pretty.

Callie also very kindly got me one of the Tanya Burr lip glosses, which I have been meaning to try for such a long time. She chose the shade Lunch Date which is a subtle pink nude. I’m not usually a lip gloss girl but I love the formula, the watermelon scent definitely helps!

IMG_8196

Sleek are a brand which I have not tried much from, and hearing so much about this particular lip product I had to find out what all the fuss was about. Their Matte Me lip cream in Birthday Suit is very popular among the blogging community. The formula of this product is very drying, but it’s worth it for this gorgeous colour.

I was also lucky enough to receive a parcel from SEVENTEEN. I recently joined their Blogger Network, and they got in touch to see if I wanted to try some of their products. So although these products are PR samples, all opinions stated in this post are honest and my own. The first item they sent me is the Define and Conquer Contour Kit in Medium*, which is actually my favourite drugstore contour product. I already own this in the light shade but this darker version will come in very handy for the summer months.

IMG_8208

SEVENTEEN also very kindly sent me one of their eye shadow palettes, this is the SEVENTEEN Easy on the Eye Palette ‘The Big Smoke’*. When it comes to eyeshadow I rarely stray from my neutrals, but the mixture of colours within this palette is stunning. It comes with a large mirror, along with an eye primer, 3 metallic cream shadows and 8 powders which have a mixture of finishes. The colours are very cool toned, which suits me well and I can’t wait to create a look using this palette. Let me know if you’d be interested in a Swatch/Review post for this palette.

Have you picked up any new products from the drugstore recently?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

 

 

19 thoughts on “Drugstore Additions + First Impressions

  1. I’ve really been interested in the YSL colour correcting concealer but didn’t want to splash out incase it didn’t work for me, and I didn’t realise Soap and Glory had released a simple sort of product, so I am definitely going to pick this up and have a go with it! Thanks so much, lovely post xxx

    Like

  2. Whoa! That lip cream looks so gorgeous and I love those palette from seventeen and to be honest, the only product that I’ve tried from Seventeen range is nail polish but I would to give try some of their other products too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

