Perfecting a Long-lasting Base

IMG_9788

As a beauty blogger I have a wide range of foundations I am constantly floating between, and through vigorous testing I have developed my own routine for long-lasting base makeup. I have dry/combination skin so it has taken me a while to find products that work well for me without looking cakey on my skin, so I thought I would share my routine with you.

An important part of achieving a long-lasting base is having a solid skincare routine to keep your skin on top form. I haven’t included the skincare products in this post as I will probably do an updated skincare post in the coming months. But I just wanted to emphasise how important this is, as the more hydrated and smooth your skin is the better your makeup will sit on your skin.Β Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I recently gave into the hype and decided to try the Nivea Men Post Shave Balm. I’ve been using this as a primer and I have noticed it has really improved the longevity of my makeup. I pour a small amount onto my hand, and gradually blend it into my skin over my entire face. I leave this to go tacky on my skin for a couple of minutes before moving on to foundation.

Whenever I want a long-lasting base I always reach for the same foundation, and it has really become a holy grail product for me – the MAC Studio Fix Fluid. I wear this foundation in the shade NC15 and it is the perfect match for my skin. This foundation has a matte finish, but by applying it in thin layers I am able to wear it without my skin drying out. I like to blend this foundation into my skin using my ZOEVA Silk finish brush as it creates such a flawless finish.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

MAC Pro Longwear concealer has the most impressive longevity of all the concealers I have tried. It provides a high level of coverage without looking cakey. After blending in my foundation I apply this concealer using my finger tips to the areas where I need extra coverage – being sure not to apply too much. To blend the concealer I either use the same ZOEVA brush, or a damp beauty blender.

To set my base makeup in place I like to use a reliable powder that will hold everything in place without having that intense powder finish. My go to powder is from the Kat Von D Shade & Light Contour palette, it’s the shade lucid pictured below. This powder is extremely finely milled, it sets my makeup very well without looking heavy on my skin which is exactly what I need. This in combination with the other three products, locks in my makeup and provides me with a super long-lasting base.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I have been using this combination of products more and more recently, especially if I know I’m going to have a long day or I’ve got lots of YouTube videos to film consecutively. Therefore almost all of these products have become holy grails, and I would be lost without them.

What products do you reach for to create long-lasting base makeup?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

9 thoughts on “Perfecting a Long-lasting Base

  1. I loved this post, I’m always aiming for a long-lasting base. I’ve found a spritz of The Body Shop Vitamin E face mist actually really makes a difference to how long my base products last! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

