MAC Starter Kit!

IMG_9847

I recently held a poll on my Twitter page to see what YouTube video my follows would like to see next, and over 50% opted for my MAC starter kit. In case you aren’t familiar with this concept, in this video/post I will run through the products from MAC which I feel are essential, and are great to introduce you to the brand. They are all products I use on a regular basis and would highly recommend to anyone. I’ve linked the video below so be sure to have a watch, as I’ve included more detail in the video as well as multiple swatches/comparisons.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Base Essentials – MAC Strobe Cream (travel sized) is the perfect introductory MAC product, it’s small size is really handy travelling and this product packs a punch when it comes to adding glow. My current ‘holy grail’ foundation has to be MAC Studio Fix Fluid, I have been using this for around a year now and I just love it’s high coverage finish and longevity. If you read my recent post ‘Perfecting a long-lasting base’ you may already know I love to pair this foundation with the MAC Pro longwear Concealer – a high coverage concealer which stays put and doesn’t crease.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Cheek products – I have chosen two classic MAC blushes for this starter kit. MAC Margin is a very Spring/Summer appropriate shade – it’s very peachy with an almost golden tone within it. The second blush is MAC Harmony – this was the first contour shade I ever tried, and it is so easy to apply/blend so it’s perfect for contouring newbies. When it comes to highlights, the MAC Mineralise Skinfinish powder highlights are the cream of the crop! Soft & Gentle is a iconic MAC shade, with a peachy champagne hue and is more of a shimmery highlight. Whereas Lightscapade is more of a pearlescent, and subtle highlight – which I think would be great for beginners, or someone who wants more of a natural highlight.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

L – R, MAC Woodwinked – Satin Taupe.

Eyeshadows & my favourite eye brush – I’ve only recently started to collect MAC eyeshadows, but I have found two shades I feel every makeup addict needs in their collection. Woodwinked is a warm toned brown, which is almost duo-chrome, and Satin Taupe is a pearly cool toned brown – both of which look gorgeous on pale skin. When it comes to applying eyeshadows the MAC 217 brush cannot be beaten, although it is on the pricey side I really think it’s worth the money.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

My current favourite lip choices – Here’s what you’ve all been waiting for, my lip choices for this MAC starter kit! I do have quite an extensive MAC lip collection so it was quite hard work to narrow this down. When it comes to lip liner I think MAC Whirl liner is the most versatile shade and can work with a wide range of colours. Velvet Teddy is again an iconic MAC shade, but it works with many skin tones so I would highly recommend this to everyone! My final recommendation is MAC Cosmo, I’m wearing this in the video linked below and it is such an easy to wear lipstick. It’s very flattery and the amplified finish makes your lips look very juicy and healthy.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

What items would you include in your MAC starter kit?

As I’ve previously mentioned; don’t forget to watch my MAC starter kit video for more detail on the individual products as well as swatches & you can also watch my MAC lipstick collection video by clicking here.

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube | Pinterest

signature2

15 thoughts on “MAC Starter Kit!

      1. I have Breezy which is a more darker plum-y fall shade but I really like it! They have such a great range but yeah it’s so difficult to choose haha!

        Like

  1. I totally agree with: Strobe Cream, Soft and Gentle, Woodwinked, Satin Taupe and Whirl Lipliner! I think I would have to add their Haute And Naughty Mascara and Brave Lipstick to the pile though too! I’ve only tried one mac blush and it’s in the shade Crisp Whites and I love it but I’ve been dying to try harmony for ages so need to give that ago. I’ve also been debating lightscapade for a while now so thats definitely on the to-swatch list! I also love sumptuous olive eyeshadow and club. They are beautiful if you haven’t tried them, I think with your dark hair they would look amazing!

    xxxx

    Like

  2. What a great topic! 🙂
    MAC offers some of my favourite products; Strobe Cream, cleansing oil, blushes (Cubic, Gentle) , eye shadows (Satin Taupe, Patina, All That Glitters, Wedge), brushes (217, 239, 137) – so much choice in colour and finishes, there’s really something for everyone!

    Like

  3. Goodness me, you know your stuff! Do you work for Mac? haha What a fab post/video for those coming to the brand for the first time, it’s evident how much time and effort you put into this and I’m sure it’ll be very helpful for a lot of people.

    xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

