The Liquid Lipstick Edit!

IMG_0728

The beauty world has gone bonkers for liquid lipsticks. When I say liquid lipsticks, I mean matte lip products that have a liquid consistency but set down to a matte finish on the lips.  Initially it was only the high end brands that were creating liquid lipsticks, but the trend has filtered down & now almost every brand are making them. I’m going to talk you through the liquid lipsticks that I own, looking closely at their lasting power, wearability and finish.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Stockholm (£5.50) – The newest addition to my liquid lipstick collection, and a firm favourite among beauty bloggers. Stockholm is a gorgeous peachy nude, it reminds me of a more peach toned version of MAC Velvet Teddy. The soft matte lip creams have an almost mousse lip formula which feels very soft on the lips despite it’s matte finish. This is a long-lasting and comfortable liquid lipstick.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sleek Matte Me Lip Cream in Birthday Suit (£4.99) – Sleek are a very affordable drugstore brand, and this liquid lipstick is the most budget friendly in my collection. Birthday Suit is a beautiful pink toned nude, which is very flattering on fair skin. The application isn’t the best with this liquid lipstick, it can be a bit patchy so it takes some work. Although I must admit I have seen many other bloggers raving about the formula, so I’m wondering if I have got a dud!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Colour Pop Ultra Matte Lip in Clueless – Dubbed as an affordable dupe for the Kylie Lip kits, the Colour Pop Ultra Matte Lips are ever popular. I’ve had mine for around 6 months now and I have been very impressed with it. It has the perfect applicator, the formula is easy to work with and it sets down well on the lips. Clueless is a cool toned pink, which almost looks lilac at times. My only bug-bear with this product is how drying it feels when wearing it for long periods of time and also the fact that it’s very difficult to remove.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Limecrime Velvetines in Suedeberry & Utopia (£14.00) – The Limecrime Velvetines were the first liquid lipsticks I ever came across, I think I first tried them around 2 years ago. I have the shades Suedeberry (top) which is a coral toned red, and Utopia (bottom) which is a vivid bright purple. The Velvetines have a very runny consistency but they set down very quickly. The lasting power of the Velvetines is very impressive, I often where these on nights out and they last very well. As with Colour Pop, this formula is very drying on the lips.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita ($20.00) – A deep nude, Lolita is a firm favourite among beauty bloggers and rightly so as it is truly gorgeous. I love the packaging and formula of the KVD liquid lipsticks. The formula is easy to work with and feels quite lightweight on the lips. Usually comfort of a liquid lipstick means that it has compromise lasting power but that is not the case with this, I’d highly recommend trying the KVD liquid lipsticks if you haven’t already.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Riviera (£23.00) – The most expensive of the liquid lipsticks I own comes from Hourglass. Riviera is a burnt orange shade which is perfect for summer. The formula of this product is quite thick and drying, but it does have a good matte finish. I’m yet to wear this for a long period of time, but I’m sure I will do so over the summer. I must admit I do think that this product is slightly overpriced.

From my collection I think my current favourite liquid lipstick is the NYX Matte Lip Cream in Stockholm as the mousse like texture is very comfortable and easy to wear. I definitely want to try more shades from the range so if you have any recommendations let me know!

What is your favourite liquid lipstick?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube | Pinterest

signature2

16 thoughts on “The Liquid Lipstick Edit!

  1. Great picks and to be honest, I’m a great fan of matte lipsticks and especially when it comes to brighter shades like scarlett red and these liquid matte lipsticks are lip perfect and out of all, I really like the budget friendly Sleek lipstick and high end version Kat D Von as they both are brilliant choices

    Like

  2. Those lime crime shades are gorgeous! Jeffree Star’s Blue Velvet is probably my favourite liquid lipstick but I love the Bourgois Rouge Edition Velvets, they’re really moussey too 🙂 xx

    Like

  3. Great picks! I have that Sleek one and I have hardly wore it as I hate the applicator on it! It’s just so flat if you get me haha especially compared to other doe foot applicators! The Hourglass one looks lovely and Lolita is just so pretty, I need!

    Like

Leave a Reply

