The Balm Voyage 2 | Review, Swatches & Tutorial Video!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The Balm are a brand which I discovered after I started writing my blog. A few of their products have become blogger favourites, The Mary Lou-Manizer & the Nude Tude palette first spring to mind. When I recently received The Balm Voyage 2 palette I was super intrigued, as I love travel friendly products. So I wanted to write a post showing you what this palette is really like, along side a tutorial so you can see the palette in action.

The Balm Voyage 2 palette contains 9 eye shadows, 1 bronzer, 1 highlight, 2 blush shades and 2 lip shades. The palette itself has The Balm’s usual quirky and bright packaging, and it’s very slim line which is of course fantastic for travel.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I will start off with the eye shadows; the shades in this palette cover quite a broad range. You have a lovely cream matte ‘Welcome’ which is an eyeshadow essential, alone with a whole host of shimmer shades which range from neutrals to the deep turquoise ‘Welkom’.

The shadows have a nice consistency, the pigmentation is good (not the greatest) but on top of this they don’t have too much fall out. I find that The Balm eye shadows last well on my lids, much longer than your usual drugstore brands but maybe not as well as my Urban Decay shadows.

The colour range is really what I love about the shadows in this palette, as I love the pops of colour. I wouldn’t usually reach for shades such as Tervetuloa or Welkom but having this palette has pushed me out of my comfort zone.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

L – R, Welcome – Bienvenue – Beinvenido – Benvenuto – Tervetuloa – Welkom – Willkommen – Valkommen – Failte

Next is the cheek section of the palette, I must admit on first watch the bronzer in this palette does come off as quite warm toned. But once blended into the skin it gives a natural warmth, as shown in my tutorial linked below. I think the bronzer shade is quite similar in tone to Benefit’s Hoola.

The highlight in this palette named ‘Kuwakaribisha’ (because that’s not a mouthful!) is SO similar to Mary-Lou, I mean they are pretty much identical. It’s your traditional champagne gold toned highlight, which packs plenty of pigment. It’s really handy having this in a travel palette.

Both blush shades in the palette are gorgeous. Huan Ying is a soft peach where as Dobrodosli is more cool toned, I’d describe it as a plum pink. The blushes are matte and as you can see from the swatches below, they have good pigmentation which makes them easy to work with.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The final products in The Balm Voyage 2 are two lip products. I must admit I don’t think I will ever end up using them, as the texture just doesn’t appeal to me. But both are quite pretty summer lip shades.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Below I have included my makeup tutorial video using The Balm Voyage palette, as I thought it would be nice to show the different products within the palette in action. I’d love to hear your thoughts on the video. I particularly like the highlight shade and the peach blush shade. I will definitely be taking this palette with me next time I go on a summer holiday!

What are your favourite travel friendly palettes/ beauty products?

Don’t forget to subscribe to my YouTube channel so you never miss a video!

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

9 thoughts on “The Balm Voyage 2 | Review, Swatches & Tutorial Video!

  1. This looks like such a lovely palette and would be perfect for traveling etc. I love the look you created in your tutorial and I agree, the bronzer and highlight both look gorgeous and not too over the top x

    Like

  2. I love all the shades they look absolutely stunning what a really great pallete! I love the diversity in colours too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

