Sleek Matte Me Lip Creams – Full Review

IMG_1551.JPG

Liquid lipsticks are a huge craze within the beauty community at the moment! At first it was only the higher end brands which were launching them – such as Limecrime and Kat Von D. But now the trend has filtered down and much more affordable brands are offering great alternatives. The Sleek Matte Me Lip Creams have recently been repackaged and Sleek have also added some new shades, so I decided to try a few more shades and thought I ought to share my thoughts with you.

The original shade I bought was Birthday Suit which I think is the most popular shade from the range. Birthday Suit reminds me a lot of Velvet Teddy, only slightly lighter.

Shabby Chic is a new shade, which is a cool toned pink comparable to Colour Pop Clueless. Of the three I own Shabby Chic is by far my favourite, I find the formula of this one is the best as it doesn’t flake and feels very comfortable on the lips.

Fired Up is also one of the new shades and this is a deep red wine colour. I love wearing these kinds of shades for nights out, as I love how dramatic they look against my skin tone.

Sleek have done well with the repackaging of the lip creams, they have changed the shape of the wand applicator which makes the product much easier to apply neatly.

In general I feel quite on the fence about the Sleek Matte Me Lip Creams. I love the range of shades they have, and I love the finish once the product has dried down onto the lips. But on the other hand, I have had some trouble with the darker shade Fired Up. I tried to wear this for a wedding recently and I was very unimpressed. I found it very difficult to get a good coverage, as it was very patchy. Then as I tried to apply an extra layer the product just began to peel and flake so I ended up wearing a totally different lip product!

In summary, I think for the price Sleek offer a great range of shades and they are a great affordable alternative to high end liquid lipsticks. I know there are many other bloggers who have raved about the formula, so I hate to be so critical but I much prefer my Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick and NYX matte lip cream over these liquid lipsticks.

Have you tried the Sleek Matte Me lip creams? What are your favourite liquid lipsticks?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

11 thoughts on “Sleek Matte Me Lip Creams – Full Review

    1. Thank you Caroline! If I’m honest, the best liquid lipsticks I’ve tried so far are from Kat Von D – they are more pricey but I 100% believe they are worth the investment! It will be good when they are finally available in the UK later this year xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

