Mid-year Goals!

img_7959-1
Today I wanted to talk about a few things I’d like to do before the end of this year. With me starting University in September lots of things will be changing. I thought it would be nice to have a record of some things I would like to/achieve by the end of the year.

  • Go on another city break with Mark before my course starts – I’ve ended up having around a 3 week gap in between leaving my job and starting University, so I really hope we can fit in another city break. We are thinking about going to Berlin so if you’ve been there before I’d love any tips/advice you may have.
  • Go Kayaking with Mark – every summer we have been together we have always talked about learning to kayak, so I’d love to finally get round to doing that this summer.
  • Get back into more of a routine with running and healthy eating – Since Glastonbury I have fallen out of my routine and I’m determined to get back on track. I’d love to get closer to my 5km running PB and I’d also really like to try to lose half a stone in weight.
  • Make more time for Baking – This is something that contradicts the last point, but I find baking so fun and therapeutic but I rarely get round to doing it. So I definitely want to make sure I do plenty of baking whilst I have the free time.
  • Attend more blog related events – Whilst I’m studying I will be spending a lot of time in Bristol/ Swindon, so I would love to try to attend some events whilst I’m there.
  • Maintain a balance between University, my blog and “me time” – I’ve found in the past it’s so easy to get wrapped up in blogging, and I’m determined to carrying on writing whilst I’m at University. But I know how important it is to get the balance right, as at the end of the day my happiness is the most important thing!
  • Try to keep a more positive outlook on life – I’m making it my business to stop comparing myself to others, whether that’s in my studies, day to day life or blogging. I want to give myself more praise as well as praising others, as I feel like spreading happiness just promotes even more happiness!

I’m trying to steer away from setting “blog goals” as I feel like it encourages me to put too much pressure on myself.ย I think by having put my thoughts on paper with this, I’m much more likely to stick with it. It’s also a really nice thing to look back on in future too.

Do you have any goals, or things you’d really like to do before the year is out?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

25 thoughts on “Mid-year Goals!

  1. Some great goals xxx baking is always good, I find it so therapeutic. I will return for the third time to be a student in September too, I am so excited I can’t wait! I applied for a PhD but was unsuccessful but they offered me a scholarship for the years MRes which is a masters in social science research – social work pathway. I love academia, learning and being a student so this is just what I need right now as my health has not been good over the past 6 months. Looking forward to having student discount again! Xxx

    Like

      1. Definitely ๐Ÿ˜Š however I am not sure how I am going to cope with my lack of income! Even though I’ve got a scholarship it is 1/6 of what I was earning working full time ๐Ÿ˜•I will have to go on a beauty budget! Xxx

        Like

    1. That would be amazing if you don’t mind? We are looking to go mid September and we are thinking of going for 5 days just so we don’t have to rush anyway! I’m very excited about it ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

      Like

  2. Ahh baking is so fun! I always used to bake .. Haven’t been able to recently in the process of moving house so everything’s a jumble at the moment. Baking doesn’t always mean unhealthy food ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m trying to find a healthy balance between work and me time, I really struggle and then before I know it I find myself feeling really low because I haven’t done anything I’ve wanted to do.. reading your blog this morning has encouraged me to think of some things I’d like to do before the end of the year so hopefully i can create a nice list and start ticking them off!

    Have fun where ever you decide to go away to ! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. It’s always hard to strike a balance I feel! That’s why I’ve tried to really pin point a few things I’d like to do so I can keep that in mind ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for reading xx

      Like

  3. We did 5 days too! We visited all of the tourist-y places: Brandenburg Gate, Holocaust Memorial and Museum, Reichstag building, Checkpoint Charlie Museum, Eastside Gallery (all free apart from CC Museum which I think was maybe โ‚ฌ12? Although I did have to book online for the Reichstag building too, but it was worth it!).

    We also went on a boat ride down the river which was really interesting (although if you don’t speak German it might not be as useful for you!), and to an outdoor pool in Kreuzberg, as we went mid-August and there was a heatwave! The Tiergarten is a massive park in the middle of the city which is nice to chill out and get an ice cream by the river. We didn’t visit the zoo there but I’ve heard it’s good.

    There are some amazing places to eat and drink in Berlin too – our hotel was near to a South American restaurant called Paracas which did great food and cocktails. If you head to the top floor carpark of the Neukรถlln Arcade there is an amazing rooftop bar that is really chilled out. And Kauf Dich Glรผcklich, on OderbergerstraรŸe, does the BEST waffles in the world, and it’s just down the road from EberfswalderstraรŸe, which has some of the cheapest street food in the city. I paid โ‚ฌ2.50 for a large pizza!

    I would definitely recommend buying a week-long travel ticket; I think it was around โ‚ฌ50 but so worth it and it made getting around so easy. Just have a look online where places are too, as it’s a big city and things are pretty far apart!

    If I think of anything else, I’ll let you know! ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

    1. Thank you so much that’s so helpful! The places you’ve mentioned for food all sound amazing. I think the whole we are looking at is very close to the Zoo, so will definitely spend some time exploring Tiergarten!
      Do you think you need to speak a little German to get by? I can speak a little bit but thinking I might need to brush up on my German skills haha xx

      Like

  4. Such a good blog post Lucie! Very inspirational ๐Ÿ™‚ By the end of this year I’d like to feel confident that I’ve worked my hardest on my University dissertation as well as take the plunge and start learning how to drive although the prospect of it scares me haha! xx

    Like

      1. I’m writing mine on the effects of Italian Internment during WW2 on Scottish society ๐Ÿ™‚ I know I’m getting stressed already haha! Best of luck for going back to Uni again in Sept xx

        Like

  5. This is a really good idea to set mid year goals. I’ve almost forgotten the ones I set at the start of the year. I’ll be living in the Swindon and Bristol area too from September and it would be great to go to some events. I’m going to keep an eye out for them as well.
    xx
    adrugstoreaddiction.com

    Like

  6. maintaining school, blog and myself is also my new goal since ill be attending college in the fall but i like all ur other goals as well. ๐Ÿ’œ

    Like

  7. Thoroughly recommend Berlin, it’s my favourite City I’ve ever visited (before New York!). I think we went for 4 days, we did most things but definitely not everything, it’s like London – you could be there for two weeks and still not cover absolutely everything! There’s so much to do and is bustling with culture I think you’d love it!
    Good luck with your goals, retaining the balance is hard to remember sometimes, I’m trying to do the same!

    Like

  8. I love the last two and I definitely agree that it’s important to keep a balance between work+school+social life+blogging+”me time”. It’s so easy to get caught up in things we think we should be doing, but we all just need to live our lives and do the best we can.
    untitled&unfinished

    Like

  9. Great goals, I hope you achieve them and surpass them! Berlin sounds so great & as for blogging and university, one of the things I learnt was definitely not to neglect my blog, but definitely do take time out if you feel that everything’s getting on top of you. I wish you all the bet for the future and can’t wait to read about your experiences when you achieve these goals! Xx

    Like

  10. Great goals, very adventurous too! I live in Swindon, so feel free to message me on Twitter or something if you fancy meeting up :-). While you’re in Bristol you must visit Cabot Circus, it’s the best for shopping! Also I’d love to hear about any upcoming events you find in Bristol. Good luck with your goals!

    Like

    1. Thanks Lexi! I used to live in Bristol when I studied last time, I love it there. It’s probably where I’ll end up living eventually I think ๐Ÿ™‚ I will definitely drop you a message once I’m in Swindon xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome, Bristol is really nice. I don’t go there very often, so it’s really nice when I have lots of shopping to do or need to find a MAC counter, hehe. Fab, I look forward to properly meeting you! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

