REVIEW WEEK #4 – bareMinerals Invisible Light Translucent Powder Duo

IMG_2330

Today’s post marks the final instalment of my REVIEW WEEK; just incase you missed the prior posts you can catch up with them here: #1 – Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream, #2 – La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo(+) Unifiant & #3 – Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray!

This powder duo really caught my eye, as it almost emulates the aesthetic of the Hourglass Ambient Light powders (which are way out of my budget) so of course I had to give this a try. bareMinerals say they have developed this powder duo to vanish on all skin tones, the silky and ultra-fine baked powders diffuse the look of pores and imperfections. The powder duo retails for £28.00.

I will start with aesthetics; I absolutely adore the packaging of this product. It’s very sleek and luxurious looking, the large mirror inside is ideal for applying makeup on the go. As I’ve already mentioned the powders look very similar to the Hourglass ones, and don’t they look gorgeous in the pan? I particularly love the look of the ‘Glow’ powder with it’s marbled rose pearlescent finish.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Now onto performance, the matte powder is extremely finely milled. It sits weightlessly on the skin, mattifying oily areas and smoothing imperfections. I found that on my oil-prone areas I had to apply more powder than usual, but I think this is just due to the fine texture of this product. One aspect I really like is that this powder doesn’t look like powder on the skin, it’s very natural.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Those of you who like an intense, beaming, glazed donut kind of highlight probably won’t appreciate the second powder in the palette. But for me I think it’s nice to have a more subtle and day-time appropriate highlight powder, and the glow powder is just that. It adds luminosity to the skin without exaggerating areas of texture or open pores. It’s a difficult shade to swatch as it’s just so fair, but it looks truly beautiful on the skin.

If you are looking for a slightly more affordable alternative to the Hourglass powders, I would highly recommend trying this duo from bareMinerals. I think it would work especially well for those of you with fair skin like myself, but bare in mind if your skin is more oily then the powder may not be mattifying enough.

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

5 thoughts on “REVIEW WEEK #4 – bareMinerals Invisible Light Translucent Powder Duo

Leave a Reply

