My Skincare Struggle!

img_0955

Today I wanted to have a bit of a discussion with you all about skincare. Skincare is an element of beauty that I find kind of intimidating, even more so since my skin type has changed in the past year. I want to do right by my skin, as I know the products we put onto have such a big impact. But is skincare something which you essentially HAVE to invest in with high-end products, or are there affordable brands which do just as well?

In the past I’ve suffered with very dry and sensitive skin, having flakey patches on my cheeks and nose area. In the last year I’ve had lots of problems with my hormone cycle, so I’ve had increasingly more hormonal break outs and my skin has become more combination. I still have dry cheeks but I’ve started to suffer with excessive oil in my t-zone. I’ve found having more combination skin much more difficult to manage and that’s what inspired me to write this post.

Since July I’ve been using mainly Kiehl’s skincare, I use daily their Ultra Facial cream and Creamy Eye treatment – both of which I do love. When it comes to cleansing I tend to use either the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial cleanser or Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish, followed by the Garnier Oil-infused Micellar Water. I don’t have a regular toner in my routine although I do enjoy using my La-Roche Posay Serozinc.

I feel as though the Kiehl’s moisturiser is good for my dry areas but it isn’t doing a lot to help my oiliness. Because of that, I’m on the hunt for a moisturiser that is more of an all-rounder and will help manage my combination skin. I’ve been looking into Clinique as I know their skincare is quite well rated, but I didn’t know if any of you would have any recommendations? I’m willing to try things of any budget really – I just appreciate other bloggers opinions, as skincare is something I find totally overwhelming.

I’m also partial to face masks, I’m currently using the LUSH Mask of Magnaminty, and their fresh face mask Cupcake. For a long time I’ve wanted to try more of a high-end skin treatment, such the face masks from Origins but I’ve just never been 100% sure what would suit me. I’d also love to try the Body Shop or L’Oreal face masks which have just been released. So again, if you have any recommendations please let me know!

Skin is something I know all of us will or will in at some point in our lives feel self conscious about so I feel lucky to have this platform to talk about my skincare struggle with you!

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

11 thoughts on “My Skincare Struggle!

  1. I think brands and price don’t really matter as long as you find the products that actually cater to your needs. I personally use SK II, but apart from that I use regular brands like Loreal and Simple. They work just fine too! 💕

    Like

  2. I know the pain with combo skin:'( also looking for a good all-rounder, I have anti-aging moisturiser (loreal revitalift) that leaves my dry patches pretty non-dry but it gives me breakouts if I put it anywhere else. Olay primer/moisturiser is really good but I only use it if I’m wearing lots of makeup 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve had some trouble with my skin and found REN, Madara and Mossa brands to be really good with their moisturisers! The latest one that I’ve loved that moisturises well, without over oiling my face was Deep moisture cream, although Deep moisture fluid might be a good option as well. And for mask I love using the Body Shops Warming mineral mask, it’s my savier! Good luck with finding new moisturiser, I know how difficult it can be!

    Lii
    https://byliil.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

