Staying Healthy on a Student Budget!

healthy.jpg

In my personal experience, staying fit and healthy is something that I have struggled with in the past. When I went to University for the first time when I was 18, I got into some bad habits and ended up putting on 3 stone over the 3 year period.

Now having lost the weight, and got into a good routine with running and eating well – I’m trying to keep on track whilst studying for my new University course.Β One of the hardest things is finding ways to eat healthy and nutritious meals that don’t cost you an arm and a leg, as well as finding the time to keep fit and exercise. So in today’s post I’m going to run through ways of tackling these issues!

Firstly, I think it’s really important to figure out a type of exercise or sport that you really enjoy. Bare in mind you don’t have to pay out to go to the gym, or pay to join a club to be able to exercise well. I’m currently running three times a week, and one major bonus is that it doesn’t cost me a penny to do so meaning I can’t use money as an excuse not to go running. There are lots of apps that allow you to do workouts in your own home, and Yoga is another great example of a cost-free exercise – I’m hoping to start Yoga in the future too.

I also have a Fitbit which really motivates me to stay active, it monitors my daily steps and how much ‘active’ time I have per day. I find that wearing my Fitbit makes me have an increased awareness of my activity, thus encouraging me to go out for walks more and to walk more throughout the day. Although Fitbits can be expensive, I think they are worth the investment.

I couldn’t write a post about being healthy without mentioning parkrun. For those of you who haven’t heard of parkrun before – it’s a nation wide event which runs in many local parks, where every Saturday there is a free timed 5k run. Not only have I really improved on my running by taking part in this free event, but I’ve made lots of new running friends too.

When it comes to food, I don’t like to sacrifice tasty meals! I’m not one for living off of salads, and depriving myself of treats. Whilst I’m away at University during the week I’ve found some affordable food which works well for me. I tend to stick to things like Porridge for breakfasts, there are many variations/flavours and I find it really fills me up. Porridge can be very affordable, and it’s much healthier than most other breakfast cereals.

I also try to make sure I have a healthy option for lunch, which is usually a Tuna salad with a special K bar and another healthy snack. It’s really important to drink plenty of water during the day too, as this helps to curb your appetite as well as keeping your body hydrated.

By ensuring my first two meals of the day are on the healthy side, it gives me more freedom with my evening meal! I’m making a conscious effort to still make healthier choices, but to eat things that I enjoy. With regards to keeping evening meals affordable, I have found that it works best to cook in bulk or cook with friends, rather than just cooking individual meals.

Staying healthy isn’t just about eating well and exercising, your mental well-being is very important too. Since starting the course I’veΒ been trying to take some time out for myself, where I’m not worrying about Uni work or blog scheduling! Whether that’s having a soak in the bath, reading a chapter of my book before bed or spending a few hours watching my favourite show on Netflix in peace. I’d also like to point out that I’ve found running an incredible outlet for my stress, so that helps my mental well-being not just my physical.

I hope that you enjoyed this more personal style post, I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | YouTube

signature2

6 thoughts on “Staying Healthy on a Student Budget!

  1. Great post Lucie xxx I too gained a lot of weight when I went to uni first time round – especially as I was living miles away from home and had control over my own meals, I lived off pasta, ready meals
    and takeaways. This time around I am being more organised with food and making sure I take healthy snacks with me whilst at uni so I don’t resort to chips! Great post xxx

    Like

  2. Great tips. I love going to the gym but i also love good food. I tend to keep my choices in the day healthy so i can go a little crazy during the evening x

    Like

  3. Ahhh you go girl!! Lovely tips and I loved reading about what worked for you, I definitely need to take a leaf out of your book and get back to my pre baby weight! I was originally nine stone and was twelve stone before I gave birth, although I think a bit of that was baby haha! Now I would just love to lose a stone πŸ˜€

    P.S Just wondered if you might be interested! I am currently giving away the Too Faced Grande Cafe Gingerbread palette xx

    elizabeth β™‘ ”Ice Cream” whispers Clara

    Like

  4. Loved your post! Setting goals like these is such an important thing, especially when you’re at uni. I’ve recently just graduated and can totally relate to all these things! In my first year I drank way too much coffee, lacked so much sleep and always snacked on chocolate while studying. I found even just fixing my sleep to a good 8-9 hrs a night helped so much. That and meal prep became my best friend and my bank account’s!

    Like

Leave a Reply

