The BEST Affordable Matte Lipsticks – Rimmel The Only 1!

image1

In the past 12 months my taste in lip products has really changed, I’ve moved from creamy formulas to much more matte and long-lasting products. There are many high end brands that have got the matte lipstick spot on – I’m looking at you MAC & Charlotte Tilbury! But sometimes a girl just needs to save the pennies, so I thought I’d share with you a drugstore gem I have found which I think trumps all other matte formulas in Boots/Superdrug.

In the latter half of 2016 Rimmel released their ‘The Only 1’ matte lipsticks. Rimmel describes the formula as majorly matte, with a long-lasting and velvety finish. There are 9 shades available in total, and the lipsticks retail for £6.99.

Before I go onto the shades that I’ve tried I wanted to talk through the formula. The word velvet is such an accurate description, as the formula is matte but still feels soft on the lips. In the past my struggle with drugstore matte lips has been with their longevity and being overly drying, but Rimmel have really got the formula spot on here as the lasting power is fantastic without making my lips feel like the Sahara desert. The lighter shade (High Flyer – pictured below) lasts really well, even after eating a full meal. Red shades like The Matte Factor are bound to need the occasional top up, but it’s still got some impressive staying power!

image2
L – R: High Flyer, The Matte Factor

Both of these shades I have absolutely loved wearing: High Flyer is a great every day shade, whilst The Matte Factor is much more daring – I wore this a lot over the festive season. The pigmentation rivals many of my more highend lipsticks, and I’ve found as the lipstick wears away throughout the day it leaves a nice tint rather than having gaps on your lips.

Another major plus point with this lipstick range is the shape of the bullet. Initially I was dubious, but I’ve found the more oval shape makes application quick and easy. I’m able to get a crisp outer line without using a lip liner.

I would love to see Rimmel add some more shades to this range, as I’m completely bowled over by the formula. They’ve managed to create a long-lasting matte lipstick which isn’t drying, and doesn’t break the bank either.

I’d love to hear if you’ve tried any shades from this range? What are your favourite drugstore matte lipsticks?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

signature2

16 thoughts on “The BEST Affordable Matte Lipsticks – Rimmel The Only 1!

  1. I really struggle with the smell of these lipsticks. They sent me the full range to review and I’m considering passing them all along because whilst they are beautiful the smell is too much (and I’ve never had a product with scented items before!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

