Why Running?

image2

The New Year has marked some milestones for me personally when it comes to health and fitness. I’ve written about running and my weight-loss on my blog in the past, (click here to see my ‘Meeting my target weight at SW’ post) and I thought a little update was in order.

Back in 2013 when I weighed my heaviest, I made the decision to start slimming world and try to turn things around. To cut a long story short, 12 months after this I started running to boost my weight-loss. At first I couldn’t even run for 5 minutes without getting out of breathe, so to think I have gone from that to where I am now is quite crazy.

In the latter part of 2016 I went through some big life changes, and I have to admit running became my coping mechanism. There is something so therapeutic about getting out there and pounding the pavement after a hard day. The lbs I had lost were slowly starting to creepy back on and this drove me even further to get my motivation for running back.

In November on a whim I booked myself a place on my local 10 mile race. Despite having never ran further than 6 miles, I ran the entire 10 miles without stopping (with the support of my best friend Alison – thank you!). The confidence I gained from this gave me such a boost mentally, and I booked myself a place on my first half marathon which is in March.

I’ve also become quite involved with my local parkrun over the past 6 months, which has introduced me to an amazing running community locally and has given me an incredible amount of drive. I never expected to be one of those people who runs multiple times every week, and actually gets enjoyment out of it! If you’re a runner like myself and you haven’t tried parkrun – I would highly recommend it.

img_0226

Since having my little spurt of motivation with running I have managed to lose another stone in weight. I’m currently the lightest I’ve been since I was 18, which is such an odd concept to grasp as I’m going to turn 25 in 6 weeks time. I know that weight is just a number, and it’s more about how good you feel in yourself rather than what the scales say. But I can’t even begin to describe how much more comfortable I feel in myself.

I truly believe I wouldn’t have come this far with my weight and general health if it wasn’t for running. Running has helped me make the changes in my weight a permanent thing, and it really has changed my life. The benefits from it are far from just the visual ones. It’s given me a much more positive outlook on life, and works wonders for managing my stress/anxiety. Running has helped me become a much healthier and happier person.

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

signature2

 

6 thoughts on “Why Running?

  1. Good for you!!! I completely agree, when my two kids were babies and I spent all day at home alone with them, running became my coping mechanism too. I don’t know how many times I said the same thing about there being something so therapeutic about being all by myself and pounding the pavement after a long day. 

    Like

Leave a Reply

