Back to Baking | Cinnamon Cupcakes

IMG_9224

After the latest series of The Great British Bake Off and the number of wonderful baking post I’ve seen recently I’ve felt really inspired to start baking again. Zoella posted a video recently for Pumpkin cupcakes with a cinnamon & cream cheese icing which got me thinking. If you’ve read any of my recent posts you’ll know about my love for Cinnamon, whether it’s Cinnamon buns, lattes or scented candles. A friend of mine gave me a recipe for Cinnamon cupcakes & I decided to give it a go.

Ingredients – 190g plain flour, 1.5 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon mixed with 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp salt, 115g unsalted butter, 200g caster sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 2 large eggs, 1 tsp ground cinnamon to decorate. For Icing – 3 large egg whites, 150g granulated sugar, 225g unsalted butter and 1 tsp vanilla extract (makes 12 cupcakes).

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C/ Gas Mark 4
  • Sift together the flour, baking powder, mixed spices and salt.
  • Put the butter and caster sugar in a separate bowl. Add the vanilla and then the eggs, on at a time beating after each addition.
  • Add half of the flour mixture and beat until combined, then add the remaining flour. At this point I decided to add 4 tbsp milk, but this wasn’t included in the original recipe.
  • Spoon the batter into your cupcake cases & you are good to go! Leave your cupcakes to bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes until they rise and are golden.
  • To make the icing put the egg whites and granulated sugar in a heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water and whisk until the sugar has dissolved. Remove from heat and whisk for 5 minutes. Next add the butter gradually and beat until it holds stiff peaks, then finally add the vanilla.
  • As I didn’t have any piping bags I spooned the icing onto the cupcakes and smoothed it out using a spatula, then sprinkled each cupcake with the ground cinnamon.

I was a little bit miffed as I overfilled the cases a little, which made the cupcakes a slightly peculiar shape. But all in all I really liked them, as the cinnamon & nutmeg within the batter gave the cakes a lovely flavour. I definitely want to do some more baking so I’ve decided I’m going to invest in some proper piping bags to improve my decoration/presentation.

I’d love to hear if any of you have any baking tips, or any nice recipe books you’d recommend?

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

signature2


18 thoughts on “Back to Baking | Cinnamon Cupcakes

  1. Great recipe!! wow, they look so yummy… I think I am gonna try to do this too. Cupcakes and Cinnamon together it’s like a dream!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment